If you like B-Movies, you need this book

http://www.amazon.com/Golden-Age-Crap-B-Movies-Glory/dp/1452822204/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1275944837&sr=8-1   The Golden Age of Crap, by Nathan Shumate.

I first met Nathan when we were on a panel about B-movies together at a Con. Now my regular readers know that I know B-movies, but I stood in awe of Nathan’s encyclopedic knowledge of crappy cinema. The man is amazing; like a walking catalog of movies about chainsaw cannibals, monster fish, and space aliens made out of trashbags.  He asked me if I would be one of his cover blurbs for his upcoming book, and after reading the early copy, I was happy to do so.  

I reread the final hardcopy this week. Golden Age of Crap is a remarkable look at a host of movies, some good, some bad, and some head-’splodingly awful.  Nathan’s reviews are snarky, funny, and always spot on.  He even reviewed bad movies that I had never heard of, and that is really saying something. 

GAoC is a great read. You should go check it out.

5 Responses

  1. Who da man? YOU da man!

    • Nathan, I just finished the book and loved it! I posted a review on Amazon, so it should be approved in a couple of days. Thanks for a fun read and an awesome resource.

  2. Looks like fun! I just ordered my copy from Amazon. I imagine the trick will be in finding the actual movies to go along with the reviews, but I’m curious to see if any of my favorites are in there.

  3. Larry,

    I saw “From Beyond” last night. Great B Horror flick.

  4. I got the book from Amazon last week. I’ve only seen one of the movies covered (Killer Klowns) so I have my work cut out for me.

    This is a fun book. Nathan’s style is such that reading entries is very entertaining, even for movies I haven’t seen. Ebert’s reviews are dry by comparison, and I certainly wouldn’t read through them for fun. Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,546 other followers

%d bloggers like this: